Grasslands Fire Brigade

Grasslands Fire Brigade

The Grasslands Fire Brigade offers fire suppression and life safety services to the Grasslands Campus and Westchester Medical Center located in Valhalla. Service is provided Monday through Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. with after-hour coverage provided by Valhalla and Hawthorne Fire Departments.   

Presently there are 19 volunteer members of the brigade, comprised of employees from the county departments of emergency services and public works. All members are state certified in FF1 and many are trained to the Haz-Mat tech level. 

To ensure proficiency of skills for safe operations, members are required to attend monthly training classes and drills on various subjects ranging from fire suppression to CPR. All training is conducted at the DES training facility. 

The fire brigade responds to emergencies with four pieces of apparatus and a chief’s car. The responding vehicles include Engine 7, Engine 8, Ladder 7 and Utility 3 along with car 2541. The vehicles are housed at both the DES training center and the DPW operations building. 

The Grasslands Fire Brigade headquarters are located at the DES training center at 4 Dana Road, Valhalla, under the direction of Chief Nicholas J. Gasparre.   

Chief Nicholas J. Gasparre
Asst. Chief Denis Halloran
Asst. Chief Robert Tocco
Captain Luci Labriola-Cuffe
Captain Rob Russell III

Albert Albrecht
Tom Alessi, Driver E7
Neil Caputo
Michael Cambeiro
Ray Diaz
Bret Dibattista
Anthony Gullotta
David Gordich
Larry Itri
Jason Lewer
Kevin O'Brien
Joe Primerano, Driver L7
Steve Sutherland
Michael Teska
Timothy Wolfe